Prof. K VijayRaghavan

Professor Krishnaswamy VijayRaghavan FRS, succeeded Dr. R. Chidambaram as the Principal Scientific Adviser to the Government of India on April 3, 2018. 

Earlier, he served as Secretary, Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Government of India, during January, 2013 to January, 2018. Till then, he was the Director of the National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bengaluru, where he continues as a Distinguished Professor.

Born on 3rd February 1954, Prof. VijayRaghavan graduated with a Bachelor of Technology degree in Chemical Engineering from IIT Kanpur in 1975.He completed his doctoral work in 1983 in the field of Molecular Biology and holds a PhD from the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research. During his post-doctoral work, , he worked as a Research Fellow from 1984 to 1985 and then, , as a Senior Research Fellow from 1986 to 1988, at the California Institute of Technology.

In 1988, he joined the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research as a reader. He was instrumental in establishing the National Centre for Biological Sciences (NCBS), Bengaluru, under the aegis of Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) and moved over to NCBS in 1992. His fields of specialization are developmental biology, genetics and neurogenetics. His research primarily focuses on the important principles and mechanisms that control the nervous system and muscles during development, and how these neuromuscular systems direct specific locomotor behaviours. This was achieved  using the fruit fly- Drosophila Melanogaster as a model system. By patterning the segmental organization of the fly body plan, his research was able to shed more light on the functions of Hox genes in directing neuromuscular connectivity and motor behaviors.

Currently, he is on the management board of the International Centre for Theoretical Sciences (ICTS) of TIFR and of the TIFR Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences, in Hyderabad. VijayRaghavan is also a director of the Centre for Cellular and Molecular Platforms. He is a member of the board of governors of the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, and the advisory committee of Janelia Farm Research Centre of the HHMI, and a senior editor of the journal eLife.

In January, 2013, he was conferred the honour of the Padma Shri.  He is also a recipient of the Infosys Prize in the life sciences category in 2009.