Empowered Technology Group

The Empowered Technology Group (ETG) is established with the approval of the Union Cabinet, as an institutionalized structure to proactively lay down, coordinate and oversee national-level policies relating to procurement and induction, and Research and Development (R&D) in technologies that require large outlays in resources, both financial and human, and to render sound and timely advice for determining direction and trajectory of Government's R&D and Technology Development Programmes.



ETG is chaired by the PSA and has the Chairmen of Atomic Energy Commission, Space Commission and DRDO and Secretaries of the Departments of Science & Technology, Telecom and the Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology as members. ETG will be supported by Technology Advisory Group (TAG) comprising of 10 members from academia and 10 members from industry. The stakeholders interacting with ETG include scientific and line ministries, state governments, R&D labs, CPSEs and Industry. The Technology Officers nominated from scientific and line ministries will be their nodal interfaces with ETG.

Pillars of Empowered Technology Group